BTEC HND in Computing & Application Development

  • Award: BTEC Higher National Diploma
  • Study Level:
  • Mode: full or part-time
  • Duration: 2 - 2.5 years
  • Tuition Fee: QAR 55,500 annual
Apply Now

Gain the experience and learn the skills needed to excel as an application developer!

Experience the opportunity to investigate the wide reaching influences that computers and digital technologies have on the world, make your own contributions and find your place in this fast-growing sector!

You will learn the skills and techniques needed to develop web and mobile applications across a variety of industries. The course is designed to prepare you for today’s Internet of Things (IoT) economy. This course develops you as a professional, self-reflecting individual able to meet the demands of employers in the computing sector and adapt to a constantly changing world. You will acquire a sound knowledge of the basic concepts of computing, and communicate accurately and appropriately. You will develop a range of transferable skills to ensure effective team working, independent initiatives, organisational competence, problem-solving strategies and resilience.

Each unit has a clear purpose: to cater for the increasing need for high quality professional and technical education pathways at levels 4 and 5, providing students with a clear line of sight to employment or progression to a degree at level 6. Each pathway consists of a total of 120 credits at level 5, delivered via core, specialist and optional units. All pathways permit a degree of optionality.

BTEC is the world’s most successful and best-loved applied learning brand, engaging students in practical, interpersonal and thinking skills for more than thirty years.

Pearson BTECs are work-related qualifications for students taking their first steps into employment or those already in employment and seeking career development opportunities. They provide progression into the workplace either directly or via study at university and are also designed to meet employers’ needs. Pearson BTEC Higher National qualifications are therefore widely recognised by industry and higher education as the principal technical professional qualification at Levels 4 and 5.

You will take 15 units (240 credits) to gain your diploma over the course of two to three years of study: 120 credits, 8 units in Level 4 (15 credits each unit) and 120 credits, 7 units in Level 5 (one 30-credit unit, and six 15-credit units).

Extra support modules customised to your needs might be added to the units.

Level 4:

  • Programming
  • Security
  • Networking
  • Website Design & Development*
  • Professional Practice
  • Managing a Successful Computing Project
  • Database Design & Development
  • Strategic Information Systems*


Level 5:

  • Computing Research Project*
  • Operating Systems*
  • Computing Intelligence
  • Systems Analysis and Design*
  • Application Program Interfaces
  • Prototyping
  • Application Development

* Non-core modules You need to take 2 of the 3 non-core modules above.

Once you have completed the course, you can choose to move directly to the workplace where you can undertake a job role as a Systems Analyst, Data Designer, Systems Tester, Database Administrator, IT Project Manager, IT Support Technician, or Web Designer.

BTEC graduates possess a combination of knowledge and skills attractive to employers worldwide.

At the same time the BTEC Higher National Qualifications are intended to keep doors open for future study should you wish to progress further in your education.

On successful completion of the Level 5 Higher National Diploma, students can develop their careers in the computing sector through:

  • Entering employment;
  • Continuing existing employment;
  • Gaining vendor certification;
  • Committing to Continuing professional development (CPD);

Or progressing to university.

    BTEC Higher National Diploma

    December 13, 2023